Brief History of Department

The Department was established in 1973 with a view to impart training in Anthropology at the post-graduate level and to promote anthropological research, especially in southern part of Karnataka.

One permanent professor and a few temporary lecturers constituted the teaching faculty of the department for about a decade.

For the first five years the department had only temporary lecturers and occasionally some visiting professors. 
Since 1988, the department succeeded in having 8 permanent faculty members. The Department offered only M.A. degree with one specialization, that is, in Social Cultural Anthropology between 1973 and 1993.

In 1993, the restructured syllabus with M.A. course in Social Cultural Anthropology and M. Sc. course in Biological Anthropology were introduced.

  • In 2000, the syllabus was revised  and semester scheme was introduced.
  • In 2007, the syllabus was revised again and choice based paper is introduced.


  • Sudha Murthy Gold Medal
  • Professor Venkatarayappa Cash Prize

Other Information

Planning to start P.G.Diploma in Medical Anthropology, P.G.Diploma in Mining Anthropology