

<mark>ಮೈಸೂರು ವಿಶ್ವವಿದ್ಯಾನಿಲಯ</mark> UNIVERSITY OF MYSORE

DEPARTMENT OF STUDIES IN MATHEMATICS

Manasagangotri, Mysuru-570 006

MATHEMATIC







CAR MARKET

RAMANULAN Mathem

Lecture Notes Series

Remaining Mathematical Society

Algebra

al Topology and

DEPARTMENT PROFILE

Historical Background

the department.

The Department of Mathematics enjoys a unique distinction in the University of Mysore as the first post-graduate Department to come up with an independent building in the Manasagangotri campus in the year 1963 which was inaugurated by Prof. K L Srimali who was the Minister of Education in Union Government of India. Department started under the stewardship of Prof. K. Venkatachaliengar in 1960, who headed the Department till 1970. The class notes of Prof. K. Venkatachaliengar were edited by various Mathematicians from India and Abroad. Prof. Keshava Hegde, who was a student of the famous algebraist Professor Van der Waerden at Zurich, developed the Department as an active center for study of Mathematics. This tradition was later continued by Professor T.S. Nunjundaiah and Professor S. Bhargava. The students who graduated from the Department continued their higher studies in Mathematics and have succeeded in contributing immensely to the field of Mathematics. Professors B.S. Panduranga Rao, C. Puttamadaiah, S. Nanjunda Rao, M.V.Manjunatha, H.S. Gopalakrishna, E. Sampathkumar, B.S. Kiranagi, Padmavathamma, Huche Gowda, and H.N. Ramaswamy have made significant contributions towards teaching, research and development of

Research Activities

The research activities focusing on the works of Srinivasa Ramanujan were initiated by the well-known mathematician Prof. K. Venkatachaliengar since inception. This was continued by Professor S. Bhargava, Prof. Chandrashekar Adiga, Prof. D.D. Somashekara and Prof. K.R. Vasuki with significant contributions which brought National and International recognition to the department. Most of the research works done by them have been included in the edited volumes of Ramanujan's notebooks and the lost notebook published by Springer-Verlag.

The current faculty members have been contributing significantly to the other areas of Mathematics such as Number Theory, Special Functions, Graph Theory, Differential Equations and Lie Algebra Bundles.

Professor. E. Sampathkumar started the Ramanujan Mathematical Society and in 1989 launched the Journal of the Ramanujan Mathematical Society, an SCI expanded journal with its office in the department and managed by Prof. Chandrashekar Adiga and Prof. K. R. Vasuki.

VISION

To make our Department a world-class institution of higher learning, well-known for its excellence in teaching and research in Mathematics, a catalyst for intellectual development and its commitment to the holistic development of the individual and society.

MISSION

To provide students with high-quality, accessible, and affordable educational programs. To provide mathematical experiences and mathematical ideas that will serve as a foundation for career and further study in Mathematics. To be a leader in the creation and synthesis of knowledge for the benefit of current and future generations.

Faculty Profile



Dr. D Soner Nandappa M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. (Gulbarga University) Professor Specialization : Graph Theory



Dr. D. D. Somashekara M.Sc., Ph.D. (University of Mysore) Professor Specialization : Theory of Numbers and Special Functions, Graph Theory



Dr. R. Rangarajan M.Sc., (University of Mysore) Ph.D., (IIT Madras) Professor Specialization : Theory of Numbers and Special Functions, Spectral Graph, Theory



Dr. K. R. Vasuki M.Sc., Ph.D., (University of Mysore) Professor Specialization : Theory of Numbers and Special Functions



Dr. Veena Mathad M.Sc., M. Phil., Ph.D.,(Karnatak University) Associate Professor **Specialization** : Graph Theory



Dr. Chandrashekar Adiga, M.Sc., Ph.D., (University of Mysore) Visiting Professor (Superannuated June 2019) Specialization : Theory of Numbers and Special Functions, Spectral Graph Theory

Collaboration:

The Department has established academic contacts with reputed Universities and Institutions in India and abroad such as the University of Illinois, University of Wisconsin, Pennsylvania State University, University of Florida, San Jose State University in U.S.A., Keio University in Japan, Kongju National University in South Korea, Evry University in France, University of New South Wales in Australia, Babes Bolyi University in Romania, the University of Kragujevac in Serbia, Selcuk University and Uludag University in Turkey Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in Mumbai, Institute of Mathematical Sciences in Chennai, Puniab University in Chandigarh. Reputed Mathematicians from U.S.A., France, Canada, U.K., Australia, Japan, South Korea, Turkey, New Zealand and other countries have visited the Department and have delivered lectures.

The faculty of the department have been awarded several projects by DST. The department has been recognized by UGC for financial support under the UGC-SAP DRS I program during 2011-2016 and UGC-SAP DRS II program for five years from 2018. Faculty members are serving as reviewers to the Mathematical Reviews of the American Mathematical Society and for many National andInternational Journals of repute.

Areas of Research :

- Algebra
- Analysis
- Number Theory
- Graph Theory
- Special Functions
- Partition Theory
- Differential Equations and Numerical Methods.



Academic Programs :

- · M.Sc
- · Ph.D

Courses offered for M.Sc Program :

Algebra, Linear Algebra, Real and Complex Analysis, Topology, Measure Theory, Functional Analysis, Differential Geometry, Theory of Numbers, Theory of Partitions, Graph Theory, Ordinary and Partial Differential equations, Special Functions, GaloisTheory, Commutative Algebra, Numerical Methods, Algorithms and Computations.

ENDOWMENTS:

- M.T Narayan Iyengar Memorial Prize
- · Late Sri. M. V. Manjunatha Memorial Prize
- Sridhar Kumar Cash Prize
- · Prof. K.Venkatachala Iyengar Endowment Cash Prize
- Dr. Nanjunda Rao Memorial Cash Prize
- Hans's (South Korea) Cash Prize
- Prof. K S Iyengar Gold Medal
- Prof. N. A. Nickam Science gold Medal

Contact: **The Chairperson** Department of Studies in Mathematics

Manasagangotri, Mysore – 5700 006, India PH: +91-821-2419827 www.uni-mysore.ac.in