

# ಮೈಸೂರು ವಿಶ್ವವಿದ್ಯಾನಿಲಯ <u>UNIVERSIT</u>Y OF MYSORE

Manasagangotri, Mysuru-570 006

# **DEPARTMENT OF STUDIES IN PHILOSOPHY**

DOS IN PHILOSOPHY

# **Profile of the Department**

The Department of Philosophy is as old as the University.

It was established under the able stewardship of Prof. A.R. Wadia,

who had his higher education in Oxford University in 1916. He came

all the way from Mumbai to start the Department and preside over the fortunes

of it. Prof. Mysore Hiriyanna, widely known for his deep scholarship in Sanskrit taught Indian Philosophy at the Department. In 1918 Prof. S. Radhakrishnan, who later became the President of India, joined the staff of the Department and by his magnetic personality and unbound love, attracted thousands of students both from Science and Arts faculties.

Several learned teachers, like Professor K.R.Srinivasa Iyengar, Prof.G.Hanumantha Rao, Prof.T.A.Purushottam, Prof.M.Yamunacharya, Prof.H.N.Raghavendrachar, Prof.H.K.Raja Rao, Prof.C.V.Srinivasa Murthy, Prof.N.A.Nikkam, Prof.Mendonza, Prof.S.S.Raghavachar, Prof. H.T.Shantha have taught in the past and contributed a lot to the richness of the subject and the growth of the department. Prof.Brajendranath Seal and Prof.N.A.Nikkam became the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Mysore, Mysore. The Department also attracted talented litterateurs like Prof.K.V.Puttappa (Kuvempu), Prof.A.N.Murthy Rao, Prof.V.Sitaramaiah, Prof.S.L.Bhyrappa and many others. "The Indian Philosophical Congress (I.P.C.)", was founded by Sri Rabindranath Tagore and Prof.S.Radhakrishnan. Prof.S.Radhakrishnan who was the second Professor of Philosophy in the department, occupied the highest position in the country, the President of Indian Republic.

It's a matter of pride to the University as well as the department that His Highness Shri Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar, the Maharaja of Mysore was a student of Philosophy in BA honours and has secured Gold Medals in the subject.

To start with, the Department offered Philosophy B.A. (Hons.) and later introduced M.A. Course. The Department threw open its doors to students from all the subjects.

Till date, the Department has produced 100 Ph.D.s on various topics on Eastern and Western Philosophy, under the able guidance of various faculty members. The University instituted a "Chair in Vivekananda Studies" in 1996. Dr. Prabhushankara was the first Visiting Professor.

The Department also had the Privilege of visits by distinguished scholars from within and outside the country.



#### ACADEMIC PROGRAMME M.A IN PHILOSOPHY (CBCS Scheme)

#### **I SEMESTER**

- 1. Indian Philosophy from Vedas to Non-Vedic Schools (HC)
- 2. Western Philosophy Pre-Socratic and Socratic (HC)
- 3. Western Logic Traditional and Modern (HC)
- Philosophy of Religion Evolutionary and Psychological (HC)
- A) Philosophy of Values (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)
   B) Indian Ethics (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)

#### **II SEMESTER**

- 1. Indian Philosophy From Nyaya To Purvamimamsa (HC)
- 2. Western Philosophy Medieval And Modern(HC)
- 3. Theory Of Knowledge Western (HC)
- 4. Problems Of Philosophy Of Religion(HC)
- 5. A) Problems Of Aesthetics (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)
  B) Western Ethics (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)
- Open Elective For Other Discipline Students
   A) Philosophy of Swami Vivekananda
  - III SEMESTER
- 1. Advaita Vedanta (HC)
- a) Contemporary Western thought (From Hegel To John Dewey) (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)
  - b) Philosophy Of Yoga (SC) (Discipline Centric Elective)

- 3. Contemporary Indian Thought (From Ramakrishna To Gandhi) (HC)
- Prescribed Text: Swamy Vivekananda's Karma Yoga (HC)
- 5. Open Elective For Other Discipline StudentsA) Social PhilosophyB) Fundamentals of Early Buddhism

# **IV SEMESTER**

- 1. Vishistadvaita and Dvaita (HC)
- A) Contemporary Western Thought From L. Morgan To Whitehead (Discipline Centric Elective) (SC)
  - B) Philosophy and Globalization (Discipline Centric Elective) (SC)
- 3. Contemporary Indian thought (from Sri Aurobindo to M. Hiriyanna) (HC)
- 4. Prescribed Text Western /Indian-Bhakti Yoga (HC)
- 5. Open Elective For Other Discipline StudentsA) Political Philosophy (SC)B) Fundamentals of Later Buddhism (SC)
- 6. Dissertation Western/Indian

### POST GRADUATE DIPLOMA IN SWAMI VIVEKANANDA STUDIES (Annual Scheme)

- 1. Vivekananda And Renascent Movements
- 2. Vivekananda's Practical Vedanta
- 3. Vivekananda on Universal Religion
- 4. Vivekananda and Yogic Methods
- 5. Vivekananda and Modern India

#### Medals

- 1. Smt. C. Setubai Gold Medal
- 2. Professor S. S. Raghavachar Gold Medal
- 3. Professor K. Venkataraman Endowment Gold Medal
- 4. Professor K. Venkataraman Endowment Gold Medal
- 5. Prof. K. R. Sreenivasa Iyengar Gold Medal
- 6. Dr. B. Sreenivasa Murthy Gold Medal

#### Prizes

- 1. The Rajasevasakta Devanahalli Venkataramaiah Prize
- 2. Bhagawan Sri Ramana Maharshi Prize
- 3. Professor Hebbar Tirumalachar Shanta Cash Prize
- Smt Jayalakshmma Nanjundaiah Hebbale Endowment Cash Prize

# **Faculty Profile**

Name and Designation

**Specializations and Status** 

Dr.M.Daniel Assistant Professor Philosophy of Religion, Ethics and Tribal Philosophy

# Former Faculty (Since 2014 to till date)



**Prof.M.Ramachandra** Professor (Rtd.) Indian Philosophy, Western Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy and Gandhian Philosophy



Dr.S.Venkatesh Professor (Rtd.) Contemporary Indian Philosophy and Philosophy of Religion



**Dr.H.L.Chandrashekara** Associate Professor (Rtd.) Logic and Philosophical Vedanta

# Infrastructure

The Department has well equipped modern Classrooms, Hi-tech Seminar Hall and Departmental Library consists of 500 books.



# **Future Plans**

- 1. To spread the message of Philosophy to schools and colleges by means of power point presentation.
- 2. To organize conferences having themes which can offer solutions to modern social challenges.
- 3. The Department also intends to include the following subjects in the curriculum
  - A) Applied Philosophy
  - B) Eco-Philosophy
  - C) Buddhistic Studies (Advanced)



# Contact The Chairperson

Department of Studies in Philosophy Manasagangotri, Mysuru-570 006 Ph.no- 0821-2149737, 0821-2419786